This house was built by the Society of Jesus between 1733 and 1737. There used to be an oratory, and the splendid semicircular arch that gave access to it is still preserved. It was inhabited by the Jesuits until King Carlos III expelled them from the islands in 1767. A few years later, in 1777, the Real Sociedad Económica de Amigos del País de Tenerife moved in.
It houses one of the most interesting historical archives of the island, and a library containing unique copies of the Enlightenment period which belong to the Nava family.
In addition, it was the first seat of the University San Fernando, germ of the current University of La Laguna, until it was transferred to the building of the Central Campus in the middle of the 20th century.